RSS Feed

Blood Pressure

Blood Pressure

I’m beginning to think my body hates me for something. As I’ve said before, I have a rare blood type and am therefore a regular donor over at the local branch of the Red Cross. Last year I started receiving frequent deferrals because my blood lacked iron. I did some digging about bodily nutrition, though, and once I learn just what the problem was, I finally learned an effective way to counter it. Unfortunately, our bodies tend to evolve and develop, and with its first line of defense against the needle gone, my body has found a second way to stay safe from the vampires: High blood pressure.

Naturally, this new development drove me right back to my nutritional research to see if I could pinpoint a problem. What I learned was that I’m actually getting my blood pressure routine mostly right. I exercise regularly, every day. Although I’m not Mr. Healthy Eating Choice, I do watch what goes into my body. While I’m an alcohol enthusiast, I don’t actually drink that much of it. My cardio exercise routines have been slipping lately, though, because the weather has been less than permitting, and a couple of days before my Red Cross appointment, I did enjoy a beer upon completion of well-written essay I was working on. These aren’t huge indiscretions, though. I still try to get out for exercise whenever I can, and my alcohol consumption is still largely minimal.

The big mistake I may have been making is my caffeine intake, which is comparatively massive. I drink several cups of coffee a day. This isn’t good for my blood pressure, and I don’t think it’s particularly good for my muscle growth, either. I know I have to cut back, but for now it’s easier to merely say that. Doing it is another act, seeing as how I happen to really, really like my coffee. Maybe it’s my old soda addiction cropping up to haunt me in a different corporeal form, but the idea of giving up my daily black go-get-’em nectar doesn’t appeal very much.

I’m making another effort again in another couple of weeks. Hopefully I can manage to knock off some of my caffeine intake and get my bicycle repaired in order to actually be eligible this time. We’ll see.

About Nicholas Croston

I like to think. A lot. I like to question, challenge, and totally shock and unnerve people. I am a contrarian - whatever you stand for, I'm against.

Leave a Reply

