RSS Feed

The One Stop Move

A couple of weeks ago, I tried to visit my Monday morning networking group. As my father drove me up to the ECC center, he saw that the parking lot was unusually empty. I didn’t think anything of it, and believed he was starting to wonder over nothing, but he made me go into the place to see if there was anything going on anyway. I thought he was exaggerating, but decided the point wasn’t worth arguing, so I went into the building and took a look around. Dad turned out to be right: The place was moving.

It wasn’t just moving, but it was also splitting its services. A handful of the services I use there will be staying at ECC South. The more important ones that I use – not the least of which was my networking group – would be going up to ECC North.

I already live in a part of the area which is known as The Place the NFTA Forgot. Getting back and forth to the Center wasn’t the world’s easiest piece of cake. I would frequently ride my bicycle there; the ride would take between 40 minutes and an hour. Still, it was a conveniently-located place where I could go to pick up a few useful services, attend helpful classes, and talk with the counselor who’s working with me. I had gotten two jobs through it, and my first client as a freelancer. I had recently signed up for my health care, knew a networking group, and went there several times a week.

As a veteran cyclist, I’ve often said there’s no such thing as a place outside of bicycling distance. My years as a messenger have also left me with a very skewed idea of what, exactly, constitutes bicycling distance. I do, however, know this: ECC North is far out of reach as far as convenient cycling distance with respect to where I live goes. Trying to make a trip there is probably close to a daylong round trip endeavor.

This is going to make communication with my counselor very difficult. She’s busy. When I was able to drop in at will, I could give her a quick update on my current situation. I’m also not able to go to my networking group; the only contact I’ve had with them lately is with a Barnes and Noble employee who also happened to be in it, giving me this very lament.

On the upside, I recently made a major decision on just which direction I’m going to be taking with my life. I can’t say I’m steaming full speed ahead yet, but the gears are rolling and the clockwork has sprung to life. You’ll be reading a lot more about this as it develops, even though the aforementioned counselor helping me do it is going to be tougher to reach…

About Nicholas Croston

I like to think. A lot. I like to question, challenge, and totally shock and unnerve people. I am a contrarian - whatever you stand for, I'm against.

Leave a Reply

